Changing of the guard!

Post date: Oct 05, 2016 8:31:46 AM

The advent of the last regatta of the Fireball season marks not only the end of the summer but also heralds the AGM of the Class which, for the past few years, has been held on the last Saturday night of the regatta season – the idea being that those who sail the regattas are most likely to be those who have a more active interest in the administration of the class.Accordingly, a “proportionate attendance” of Fireballers was in the National Yacht Club this past Saturday evening, post the All-Ireland replay, to attend the AGM. Discussions centred mainly around how to improve turnouts and introduce new sailors in the coming year. There also ensued a discussion about proposed changes in the Fireball International structures, mainly with a view to improving the democratic spread of voting power and streamlining FI to the latest World Sailing (formerly ISAF) protocols. A wish-list of events & venues for 2017 was aired, with the possibility of dropping one open event and encouraging sailors to participate in the Bi-Annual Dun Laoghaire Combined Clubs Regatta in its stead. The incoming committee will be fine-tuning a schedule of events for the coming year, including at least one training event and some events aimed at getting new sailors out in the Fireball.In terms of an election, two positions were specifically vacated, Chairman and Secretary. Marie Barry had been in the Chair for three years and had signalled her intention to stand down at this AGM. Neil Cramer (Skerries) has agreed to take on the role and he was elected by consensus. A vote of thanks was tabled to acknowledge Marie’s stewardship of the class over a challenging three years.Margaret Casey has been the Secretary for a substantial period of time and she too indicated a desire to stand down from this position. She has served as Secretary to at least three Chairmen, if not four, over a time span of at least nine years.

For 2017, the office-bearers are;

Chairman: Neil Cramer (14938, Skerries Sailing Club).

Secretary: Marie Barry (14854, National Yacht Club).

Treasurer: Conor Clancy (14807, Royal St George Yacht Club).

Dublin Bay Sailing Club Class Captain: Hermine O’Keeffe (14691, Royal St George Yacht Club)

Trophy Secretary: Frank Miller (14713, Dun Laoghaire Motor Yacht Club)

Webmaster: Stephen Oram (15061, National Yacht Club)

Committee Members: Neil Colin (14775, DMYC), Cormac Bradley, Margaret Casey (14775, DMYC).

The next Fireball event is the end of season party which will be hosted by the National Yacht Club on November 25thbut it was noted that the ever-popular DMYC Frostbite Series kicks off on Sunday November 6th. Sailors are encouraged to enter early for the Frostbites and once again we look forward to a great fleet of Fireballs with our own starts from November through to March.